CoCo3FPGA Lives!

Well, it’s been a long time, but I finally finished up (and debugged) my video modification of the Spartan 3 board and installed the bit file to make the FPGA into a Color Computer.

Since I last got distracted from this project, Gary Becker has modified the CoCo3FPGA, adding a built-in co-processor that emulates the WD1773 floppy disk controller chip and accesses disk images on a modern PC using the DriveWire protocol.  Earlier versions did a similar thing using a different server program Gary adapted from an Apple ][ implementation.  But DriveWire is more prevalent on the CoCo, and current versions also offer network support and use resources on the host PC for things like printing, and playing MIDI files.  This development reignited my interest in the CoCo3FPGA and motivated me to get it up and running.

CoCo3FPGA Running Disk Extended Color BASIC

CoCo3FPGA Running NitrOS-9

Leave a comment