Cartridge Housing CAD

CoCo Cartridge Housing

First stab at CoCo Cartridge Housing.

This is a preview of a CoCo cartridge housing I’m designing in OpenSCAD.  The next thing that needs to be done is to add snapping clips on the inside so the top and bottom halves will snap together, and some internal structures to hold a circuit board in the right place to plug into the CoCo’s expansion bus.  Then it will be time to print the first prototype on the Thing-O-Matic and see how much I have to tweak the measurements to get it to print exactly what I want.  Then it will be time to add extra optional features, such as cut-outs for connectors and cables, ventilation slits, various PCB stand-offs, and so on.

I don’t think I’m going to try to design the sliding door that was on the original Radio Shack game carts.  But I could redesign the inside so that it is essentially closed, leaving only a slit for the card-edge connector to stick out if people thing that’s important.

2 Responses to “Cartridge Housing CAD”

  1. Luis Fernández Says:

    I Like, I need 10 or 20

  2. Kip Koon Says:

    I’m looking for at least one to use to house small prototype projects. My current PCB size is 3.84″ x 3.8″. I need to know where to put the mounting holes. Please get back with me as I have several ideas I’d like to go forward with. Thank you.

Leave a comment